Memorandum

To: CHAIR AND COMMISSIONERS CTC Meeting: January 26-27, 2022

From: MITCH WEISS, Executive Director

Reference Number: 4.4, Action - Replacement

Prepared By: Hannah Walter

Associate Deputy Director

Published Date: January 21, 2022

Subject: Road Charge Technical Advisory Committee Membership Appointments

Recommendation:

California Transportation Commission (Commission) staff recommend the Commission appoint the following new Road Charge Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) members:

- Senator Josh Newman, California State Senate, representing the Legislature.
- Assemblymember Laura Friedman, California State Assembly, representing the Legislature.
- Axel Santana, Associate at PolicyLink, representing social equity.

<u>lssue:</u>

There have been several changes to Road Charge TAC membership. The following individuals are no longer serving on the Road Charge TAC.

- Senator Jim Beall, in his position as California State Senator, served on the Road Charge TAC from December 2014 to November 2020, when his term in the Senate ended. Jim Beall represented the California State Senate.
- Assemblymember David Chiu, in his position as California State Assemblymember, served on the Road Charge TAC from January 2015 to October 2021, when he became the City Attorney of San Francisco. David Chiu represented the California State Assembly.
- Richard Marcantonio, in his position as a managing attorney at Public Advocates, served on the Road Charge TAC from December 2014 to October 2021, when he left the TAC to focus on his Public Advocates work. Richard Marcantonio represented social equity issues on the TAC.

Reference No.: 4.4 January 26-27, 2022

Page 2 of 2

Commission staff and the Road Charge TAC would like to thank these individuals for the time and work they put into helping California develop a road charge program. It is greatly appreciated.

Consistent with statute, the Chair of the Commission, in consultation with the California State Transportation Agency Secretary, has identified the individuals listed in the Recommendation section of this book item to fill the vacancies on the Road Charge TAC.

Background:

On September 29, 2014, the Governor signed Senate Bill 1077 (DeSaulnier) mandating the Commission Chair, in consultation with the California State Transportation Agency Secretary, create a 15 member Road Charge TAC to study alternatives to the gas tax. A list of current Road Charge TAC members is provided for reference as Attachment B.

California Vehicle Code Section 3090(a) and (c) specify Road Charge TAC membership as follows:

- (a) The Chair of the California Transportation Commission shall create, in consultation with the Secretary of the Transportation Agency, a Road Usage Charge (RUC) Technical Advisory Committee.
- (c) The technical advisory committee shall consist of 15 members. In selecting the members of the technical advisory committee, the chair shall consider individuals who are representative of the telecommunications industry, highway user groups, the data security and privacy industry, privacy rights advocacy organizations, regional transportation agencies, national research and policymaking bodies, including, but not limited to, the Transportation Research Board and the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, Members of the Legislature, and other relevant stakeholders as determined by the chair.

The proposed new members are qualified and bring a wealth of experience to the Road Charge TAC. Additional information about the proposed candidates is included in Attachment A.

Attachments:

- Attachment A: Road Charge TAC Candidate Information
- Attachment B: Road Charge Technical Advisory Committee Members

Road Charge Technical Advisory Committee Candidate Information

1. Senator Josh Newman, representing the California State Senate



Senator Josh Newman is a Democrat, he represents the 29th Senate District, which encompasses parts of Los Angeles, Orange, and San Bernardino counties. Senator Newman supported Senate Bill 1 (Beall, 2017) and is an advocate for military veterans. His recent legislation has focused on areas such as reimbursement to health care providers for personal protective equipment and other critical supplies, preserving open space and wildlife in Chino Hills, and strengthening consumer protections. Senator Newman is a member of the Senate Transportation Committee and Select Committee on Hydrogen Energy.

2. Assemblymember Laura Friedman, representing the California State Assembly



Assemblymember Laura Friedman is a Democrat, she represents the 43rd Assembly District, which encompasses the cities of Burbank, Glendale, and La Cañada Flintridge, as well as the communities of La Crescenta and Montrose, and the Los Angeles neighborhoods of Atwater Village, Beachwood Canyon, Los Feliz, East Hollywood, Franklin Hills, and Silver Lake. Assemblymember Friedman focuses on addressing the housing affordability and homelessness crisis, combating climate change, and protecting vulnerable communities. Assemblymember Friedman is Chair of the Assembly Transportation Committee.

3. Axel Santana, representing Social Equity



Axel Santana is an Associate at PolicyLink, which is a national research and action institute advancing racial and economic equity. His work involves research, writing, and advocacy around mobility justice, climate justice, and the intersections of arts, culture, and the various equity issues impacting communities of color in California and beyond. In his years at PolicyLink, he has helped convene advocates from across the country, collaborated with equity leaders on various initiatives, authored blog posts, and completed work in service of empowering and lifting the voices of our most vulnerable communities. Prior to PolicyLink, Axel was focused on international development, spending time in Kenya and El Salvador doing reproductive health advocacy and public space rehabilitation, respectively, before ending up in the Bay Area working with an agency supporting asylum seekers with legal assistance.

California Road Charge Technical Advisory Committee Roster January 2022

	Name	Title	Category	Organization
1	Joseph Lyou, <i>Chair</i>	Commissioner	Commission	California Transportation Commission
2	Steve Finnegan, Vice- Chair	Manager of Government & Community Affairs	Highway User Groups	Automobile Club of Southern California (AAA)
3	Proposed – Laura Friedman	Assemblymember	Legislature	Assembly
4	Proposed – Josh Newman	Senator	Legislature	Senate
5	Eric Sauer	Senior Vice-President of Policy & Government Relations	Highway User Groups	California Trucking Association (CTA)
6	Robert Poythress	Supervisor	Regional Agency	County of Madera
7	Jim Madaffer	Public Member	Transportation Policy	Madaffer Enterprises
8	Lee Tien	Senior Staff Attorney	Privacy Rights Advocacy	Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF)
9	Lisa Bartlett	Supervisor	Regional Agency	Orange County
10	Loren Kaye	President	Business and Economy	Foundation for Commerce & Education
11	Pam O'Connor	Public Member	Local Government Policy	N/A
12	Proposed – Axel Santana	Associate	Social Equity	PolicyLink
13	Susan Ornelas (will be vacant starting 1/15/22)	Economic Development Planner	Regional Agency	City of Blue Lake
14	Terry Benzel	Director	Data Security and Security	USC Information Sciences Institute
15	Asha Agrawal	Director, Mineta National Transportation Finance Center	Academic	San Jose State University